A Seventh-day Adventist Organization

Scientific Committee

Scientific Committee Chair

Karl McCleary, PhD
Executive Director, Center for leadership in Health Systems
Associate Dean of Research, School of Public Health
KMcCleary@llu.edu

In Honor of:

Samuel Soret, PhD
Executive Director, Center for Community Resilience and Professor
Associate Dean of Research, School of Public Health

Scientific Committee

Elisa Blethen, MBA
Associate Professor and Program Director, MBA in Healthcare Administration
Center for Leadership in Health Systems, School of Public Health
eblethen@llu.edu

Penelope Duerksen-Hughes, PhD
Associate Dean of Basic Sciences and Research
Director of Research, Behavioral Health Institute
Professor, School of Medicine
pdhughes@llu.edu

Ella Haddad, DrPH
Associate Professor, Pediatrics, Public Health
Center for Nutrition, Healthy Lifestyle and Disease Prevention, School of Public Health
ehaddad@llu.edu

Krystal Sky Gheen, MPH, RD
Faculty, Public Health Nutrition
Center for Community Resilience, School of Public Health
kgheen@llu.edu

Fred Hardinge, DrPH, RD, FAND
Associate Director, Nutrition and Media, Adventist Health Ministries
Associate Director, Health Ministries, General Conference SDA
Fellow, American Academy of Nutrition and Dietics
hardingef@gc.adventist.org 

Jerry Lee, PhD
Professor, Public Health
Center for Nutrition, Healthy Lifestyle and Disease Prevention, School of Public Health
jlee@llu.edu

Celeste Philip, MD, MPH
Surgeon General and Secretary, Florida Department of Public Health
Board Member of Healthy Initiatives Advisory Group, Florida Board of Governors
Board Member, Florida Healthy Kids Corporation
celeste.philip@flhealth.gov

Nico Rizzo, PhD
Assistant Professor, Basic Sciences and Public Health
Center for Community Resilience, School of Public Health
nrizzo@llu.edu

Joan Sabate, MD, PhD
Adjunct Associate Professor, Medicine, Basic Sciences, and Public Health
Executive Director, Center for Leadership in Healthy Systems
Professor, School of Medicine and Public Health
jsabate@llu.edu

Michael Samardzija, JD, PhD
Associate Vice President for Research Development, Medicine, Loma Linda University Health
Research Affairs, School of Medicine
msamardzija@llu.edu

Rhonda Spencer, DrPH
Assistant Professor, Public Health
Center for Community Resilience, School of Public Health
rspencer@llu.edu

Sigve Tonstad, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Theological Studies and Medicine
sktonstad@llu.edu

Gerald Winslow, PhD
Vice President of Mission and Culture, Loma Linda University Health
Founding Director, Institute for Health Policy and Leadership
Professor of Ethics, School of Religion
gwinslow@llu.edu